Skip directly to content

Toronto FC Forward Sebastian Giovinco Named MLS Newcomer of the Year

Contact: MLS Communications
Toronto FC Forward Sebastian Giovinco Named MLS Newcomer of the Year
Italian international became the first player in MLS history to register more than 20 goals and 10 assists in one season
NEW YORK, NY (Monday, Nov. 23, 2015) – Major League Soccer announced today that Toronto FC forward Sebastian Giovinco was voted the MLS Newcomer of the Year. The Newcomer of the Year honors a player in his first season in Major League Soccer who had prior professional experience, making him ineligible for Rookie of the Year honors.
Joining Toronto FC from Italian powerhouse Juventus in January 2015, Giovinco set a new MLS single-season record for most combined goals and assists (38) and led TFC to its first ever playoff appearance in his historic debut season.
The Italian-international claimed the Audi Golden Boot with a league-tying best 22 goals scored in 33 regular season matches, capturing the trophy via tiebreaker as his league-leading 16 assists beat out Columbus Crew SC forward Kei Kamara, who also finished with 22 tallies. Giovinco was involved in two or more goals in 12 games during the 2015 regular season – the most of any player in MLS history. He is also the first player in league history to reach 20+ goals and 10+ assists in a single season.
The 28-year-old is also a finalist for the Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player honor, which will be announced on December 2. Additionally, two of Giovinco’s goals from the 2015 regular season are among the top eight in voting for the AT&T Goal of the Year, which is open to the public at (Vote Here).
The Newcomer of the Year Award was voted on by MLS club management, media, and MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results for the top three finalists:
Player (Club)
% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
Sebastian Giovinco (TOR)
Didier Drogba (MTL)
Mike Grella (NYRB)
MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners:
2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC
2014: Pedro Morales – Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2013: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers
2012: Federico Higuain – Columbus Crew
2011: Mauro Rosales – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Alvaro Saborio – Real Salt Lake
2009: Fredy Montero – Seattle Sounders FC
2008: Darren Huckerby – San Jose Earthquakes
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United