Skip directly to content

Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake named Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year

Contact: MLS Communications
Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake named Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year
Jamaican international helped lead Philadelphia Union to first playoff appearance since 2011
NEW YORK, NY (Thursday, Nov. 17, 2016) – Major League Soccer announced today that Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Andre Blake has been named the 2016 Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year.
The Jamaican international had a breakout season in 2016, his third with the Philadelphia Union. The first goalkeeper to be taken with the top pick in the MLS SuperDraft in 2014, Blake became the Union’s undisputed No. 1 keeper, starting 32 regular season matches after making just seven appearances over the previous two seasons combined.
With his imposing 6’ 4’’ frame and incredible athletic ability, the 25-year-old helped lead the Union to its first postseason appearance since 2011, grabbing the final playoff spot in the Eastern Conference. The Generation adidas player’s jaw-dropping performances also earned him his first MLS All-Star nod and went on to showcase his MLS Goalkeeper of the Year status against Arsenal with a remarkable full-stretch save to deny Mohamed Elneny that landed the top spot in ESPN SportsCenter’s Top 10 Plays.
In addition to the Union, Blake has been just as vital for the Jamaican Men’s National Team, where he has become the country’s top goalkeeper. The May Pen native has 22 career caps with the Reggae Boyz, most recently securing a bid to the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup and featuring for Jamaica in 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying and starting all three 2016 Copa America Centenario matches. Blake was also a member of the team that finished as runner-ups in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and took home the CONCACAF Caribbean Cup title in 2014.
The University of Connecticut product finished the 2016 regular season with six shutouts and a total 99 saves, while posting a 66% save percentage and 1.56 goals allowed average. Blake currently owns the club’s single-game record for saves with 10 (vs. New England Revolution on Sept. 26, 2015) and helped secure the club’s first ever wins in Montreal (Aug. 22, 2015) and Columbus (March 12, 2016).
Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year
Player Vote %
Media Vote %
Club Vote %
Average %
Andre Blake (PHI)
Luis Robles (NYRB)
Tim Howard (COL)
Bill Hamid (DC)
David Bingham (SJ)
Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:
2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls
2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn