Skip directly to content

New York Red Bulls Head Coach Jesse Marsch Voted MLS Coach of the Year

Contact: MLS Communications
New York Red Bulls Head Coach Jesse Marsch Voted MLS Coach of the Year
Marsch led the Red Bulls to the best regular season record in MLS in his first year with the club
NEW YORK, NY (Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2015) – Major League Soccer announced today that New York Red Bulls head coach Jesse Marsch was voted the MLS Coach of the Year.
In his first year at the helm of the New York Red Bulls, Marsch led the club to an 18-10-6 (60 points) regular season record, allowing the club to take home the MLS Supporters’ Shield for the second time in three years with the best overall record. The Red Bulls led the league with 62 goals scored and surrendered the fewest goals in the Eastern Conference (43) during the 2015 regular season.
After winning four of their first 14 games, the Red Bulls went 14-5-1 to close out the season, setting a new club record for wins in a year and earning the top seed in the Audi 2015 MLS Cup Playoffs. Introducing a high-pressure and offensive mentality, the Red Bulls finished first or second in MLS in goals, assists, shots, shots on goal, offsides and corner kicks.
During his 14 year MLS playing career, Marsch played for four coaches when they won the MLS Coach of the Year: Bruce Arena, D.C. United (1997); Bob Bradley, Chicago Fire (1998); Dave Sarachan, Chicago Fire (2003); and Preki, Chivas USA (2007).
Marsch becomes the first coach from a New York MLS team to win MLS Coach of the Year, and is the sixth former MLS player to win the honor.
The MLS Coach of the Year Award was voted on by MLS club management, media, and MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results for the top three finalists:
Coach (Club)
% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
Jesse Marsch (NYRB)
Oscar Pareja (DAL)
Carl Robinson (VAN)
MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – Los Angeles Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire 
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United 
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny