Skip directly to content

New England Revolution midfielder Zak Boggs named MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year


MLS Communications
Contact: (212) 450-1223
New England Revolution midfielder Zak Boggs named
MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year
Revs’ midfielder honored for his volunteer cancer research at Children’s Hospital Boston
NEW YORK (Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011) – Major League Soccer announced today that New England Revolution midfielder Zak Boggs has been named the 2011 MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year for his volunteer work with cancer research at Children’s Hospital Boston. The cancer research laboratory at Children’s Hospital Boston will receive a $5,000 donation from MLS W.O.R.K.S. on behalf of Boggs. 
On a weekly basis, Boggs worked in Dr. Marsha Moses’ laboratory, helping her staff research potential cancer diagnostics and prognostics. Not only has Boggs been a fixture in Moses’ lab since 2010, but Boggs has also been a regular visitor to patients at Children’s Hospital through the team’s monthly visits.
For a Boston Globe feature about Zak Boggs, CLICK HERE.
For an feature about Boggs, CLICK HERE.
Members of the media, MLS players, and club representatives voted for this year’s Humanitarian award. Houston Dynamo midfielder Brad Davis and San Jose Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski were recognized as finalists.
For bios on all the nominees for MLS W.O.R.K.S.  Humanitarian of the Year, click HERE. A breakdown of the top five candidates is below.
Player (Club)
% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
Zak Boggs (NE)
Brad Davis (HOU)
Chris Wondolowski (SJ)
Kei Kamara (SKC)
James Riley (SEA)
MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year winners:
2011:Zak Boggs – New England Revolution
2010: Seth Stammler – New York Red Bulls
2009: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards; Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2008: Jose Luis Burciaga Jr. – Colorado Rapids
2007:Diego Gutierrez – Chicago Fire
2006: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2005:Brian Kamler – Real Salt Lake
2004: Chris Henderson – Colorado Rapids
2003:Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2002:Steve Jolley – MetroStars
2001:Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000:Abdul T. Conteh – San Jose Earthquakes
About MLS W.O.R.K.S.
MLS W.O.R.K.S. is Major League Soccer’s community outreach initiative dedicated to addressing important social issues affecting young people and serves as a platform for both League and club philanthropic programs.  MLS W.O.R.K.S. seeks to establish Major League Soccer as a leader for improving the lives of people through sport.
Note:The MLS Referee of the Year and Assistant Referee of the Year awards, originally scheduled to be announced today, will be announced tomorrow.