Skip directly to content

Montreal Impact Defender Laurent Ciman Named MLS Defender of the Year

Contact: MLS Communications
Montreal Impact Defender Laurent Ciman Named MLS Defender of the Year
Belgian International takes home honor in his first season in MLS
NEW YORK, NY (Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2015) – Major League Soccer announced today that Montreal Impact and Belgian international Laurent Ciman has been named the MLS Defender of the Year.
A member of Belgium’s team that advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, Ciman joined Montreal in January from Standard de Liège in the Belgian first division and immediately stepped in to anchor the backline. In his first year in MLS, Ciman helped lead the Impact to the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League final, the Amway Canadian Championship final and to the Audi 2015 MLS Cup Playoffs Conference Semifinals.
A 2015 MLS All-Star, Ciman played in 27 regular season matches for the Impact, scoring twice from his center back position while finishing fifth on the team with 35 shots. His influence on the defense allowed Montreal to surrender 14 fewer goals in 2015 compared to 2014 (44 vs. 58), in turn helping the club post a 24 goal swing in goal differential (-20 in 2014 to +4 in 2015). Montreal also went from a last-place finish in the Eastern Conference in 2014 to third place in 2015 as the club advanced to the MLS Cup Playoffs for the second time in its short history in MLS.
Prior to joining Montreal, Ciman had spent his entire career in the Belgian first division, playing 286 matches from 2004 to 2015. He spent the previous six seasons with Standard de Liège, appearing in more than 150 matches while helping the club win the Belgian Cup in 2011, as well as participating in the UEFA Champions League, Europa League and UEFA Cup tournaments.
On the international front, Ciman debuted with Belgium on May 19, 2010 against Bulgaria and has earned nine career caps. He was a member of the 2014 FIFA World Cup team that lost to Argentina in the quarterfinals, and has been called in by Belgium for four EURO 2016 qualifying matches since arriving in MLS.
The award was voted on by MLS club management, media, and MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:
Player (Club)
% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
Laurent Ciman (MTL)
Kendall Waston (VAN)
Matt Hedges (FCD)
Matt Miazga (NYRB)
MLS Defender of the Year Winners:
2015: Laurent Ciman – Montreal Impact
2014: Chad Marshall – Seattle Sounders FC
2013: Jose Goncalves – New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes