Skip directly to content

MLS Fair Play Awards and Referee of the Year Announced

Contact: MLS Communications
MLS Fair Play Awards and Referee of the Year Announced
Rookie Rosenberry wins Individual Fair Play award; Alan Kelly earns Referee honor in consecutive years
NEW YORK (November 4, 2016) – Major League Soccer today announced Philadelphia Union defender Keegan Rosenberry and Columbus Crew SC as respective individual and team MLS Fair Play Award winners. The league also announced that Alan Kelly and Frank Anderson were voted the MLS Referee of the Year and the MLS Assistant Referee of the Year respectively.
During his breakout rookie season with the Philadelphia Union, Rosenberry became the lone field player in 2016 and the fourth rookie field player in league history to appear in every minute of every regular season game. A 2016 MLS All-Star, Rosenberry saw more time on the field than any non-goalkeeper since 2013, and he logged all 3,060 minutes possible without ever receiving a yellow card. As an outside back, Rosenberry committed the second fewest fouls (13) by any player appearing in all 34 games, and he ranks among the league’s top 20 in both tackles (78) and interceptions (88). Also dynamic on the attack with the sixth most crosses in open play, Rosenberry scored two goals and contributed two assists in his first professional season.
Both Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC) and Chris Tierney (New England Revolution) were also finalists for the award, which utilizes subjective evaluations on sportsmanlike behavior, as well as objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played to select the winner.
For a record fifth time in the award’s 20-year history, Columbus Crew SC earns the Team Fair Play Award after accumulating the fewest yellow cards (33) and committing the fewest fouls (311) during the 2016 regular season. MLS selects the Team Fair Play Award winner based on the fewest regular season disciplinary points, which are derived by adding the points assigned to fouls committed (3 points per), yellow cards (3 points per), red cards (7 point per) and Supplemental Points (8 points per each disciplinary action taken). Columbus Crew SC finished the season with 456 disciplinary points (13.41/game), Seattle Sounders FC was second (562; 16.5) and Toronto FC was third (579; 17.02).
Receiving more than 58 percent of the votes from players, 54 percent from the media, and 76 percent from club executives, Alan Kelly earns his second straight MLS Referee of the Year award after taking on 23 assignments as the center official and calling more MLS matches than any other PRO referee in the 2016 season. A native of Ireland, with experience refereeing FIFA World Cup qualifiers and UEFA Champions League games, Kelly is in his third MLS season and was awarded two more games in 2016 than in the previous year.
Following his 11th season as an MLS official, Frank Anderson earns his first Assistant Referee of the Year Award after receiving more than 30 percent of votes from players, media, and club executives. An assistant referee for 23 regular season games and during the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Game, Anderson has been FIFA Assistant Referee since 2012, and he also served as a linesman for the Toronto 2015 Pan and Parapan American Games Final.
Nominated by U.S. Soccer, Canadian Soccer Association and the MLS Competition Committee, candidates for MLS Referee of the Year and Assistant Referee of the Year Awards were voted on by MLS club management media and MLS players. Below is the breakdown of the voting results for these two awards:
Referee of the YearPlayer Vote %Media Vote %Club  Vote %Average %
Alan Kelly58.46%54.00%76.32%62.93%
Jair Marrufo26.92%26.00%13.16%22.03%
Baldomero Toledo14.62%20.00%10.53%15.05%
Asst. Referee of the YearPlayer Vote %Media Vote %Club Vote %Average %
Frank Anderson51.90%33.33%36.84%40.69%
Eric Boria48.10%35.56%28.95%37.53%
Ian Anderson45.57%31.11%34.21%36.96%
Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:
2016: Keegan Rosenberry – Philadelphia Union
2015: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2014: Michael Parkhurst – Columbus Crew SC
2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2012:  Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2011:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010:  Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009:  Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007:  Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006:  Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005:  Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004:  Eddie Pope – MetroStars
2003:  Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002:  Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001:  Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998:  Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997:  Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards
Fair Play Award -Team Winners:
2016: Columbus Crew SC
2015:  Philadelphia Union
2014:  Philadelphia Union
2013:  LA Galaxy
2012:  New England Revolution
2011:  Portland Timbers
2010:  San Jose Earthquakes
2009:  Chicago Fire
2008:  New England Revolution
2007:  Columbus Crew
2006:  Kansas City Wizards
2005:  Kansas City Wizards
2004:  Columbus Crew
2003:  New England Revolution
2002:  Kansas City Wizards
2001:  San Jose Earthquakes
2000:  Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999:  Columbus Crew
1998:  Kansas City Wizards
1997:  Columbus Crew
Referee of the Year Winners:
2016: Alan Kelly
2015: Alan Kelly
2014: Mark Geiger
2013: Hilario Grajeda
2012: Silviu Petrescu
2011: Mark Geiger
2010: Kevin Stott
2009: Alex Prus
2008: Jair Marrufo
2007: Brian Hall
2006: Brian Hall
2005: Brian Hall
2004: Abiodun ‘Abbey’ Okulaja
2003: Brian Hall
2002: Kevin Terry
2001: Paul Tamberino
2000: Paul Tamberino
1999: Paul Tamberino
1998: Paul Tamberino
1997: Esse Baharmast
Assistant Referee of the Year Winners:
2016: Frank Anderson
2015: Corey Parker
2014: Paul Scott
2013: Kermit Quisenberry
2012: Ian Anderson
2011: Corey Rockwell
2010: Craig Lowry
2009: Greg Barkey
2008: Kermit Quisenberry