Skip directly to content

Krisztian Nemeth wins AT&T Goal of the Year; Adam Kwarasey wins MLS Save of the Year

Contact: MLS Communications
Krisztian Nemeth wins AT&T Goal of the Year; Adam Kwarasey wins MLS Save of the Year
Fans determined award winners through online bracket competition vote
NEW YORK, NY (Thursday, Dec. 3, 2015) – today revealed that Sporting Kansas City forward Krisztian Nemeth has won the 2015 AT&T Goal of the Year and Portland Timbers goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey has won the MLS Save of the Year. Each player received the most votes on each head-to-head bracket-style voting round, which were conducted exclusively on the League’s official website.
On October 3, Nemeth took a ball near midfield and slalomed through the Portland Timbers all by himself, turning defenders inside-out before entering the box and shooting across his body to the far post beyond the outstretched diving attempt by Timbers goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey. The goal proved to be the game-winner as Sporting KC held on the 1-0 road victory. The 26-year-old Hungarian international finished with 10 goals in his debut season. He is the first Kansas City player to win the AT&T MLS Goal of the Year.
Kwarasey earned his own highlight, capturing the 2015 MLS Save of the Year. In 31st minute of a scoreless road match at Real Salt Lake on August 15, Kwarasey made a spectacular fingertip save on a Luke Mulholland blast from nearly 30 yards to keep the Timbers’ in the match. The ball was cleared from the Portland area, but Mulholland hit a perfectly timed first-time volley from distance that appeared headed to the upper left corner. However Kwarasey was quick to react, lunging high to his right to push the ball just beyond the goal for a corner kick. The save proved instrumental, and Timbers’ defender Nat Borchers scored in five minutes into second half stoppage time give Portland the 1-0 win.
In all 64 goals were on the AT&T Goal of the Year ballot: 33 AT&T Goal of the Week winners (there was no winner for week 32) plus 31 other candidates selected by the editorial staff, taking into account input from all clubs' PR and digital teams. The 32 Save of the Year finalists were the 32 Save of the Week winners that were goalkeepers.
All-Time MLS Goal of the Year Winners:
2015: Krisztian Nemeth – Sporting Kansas City | 10/4/15 v Portland Timbers, 83rd minute
2014: Obafemi Martins – Seattle Sounders FC | 5/23/2014 v San Jose Earthquakes, 8th minute
2013: Camilo Sanvezzo – Vancouver Whitecaps FC | 10/6/2013 v Portland Timbers, 78th minute
2012: Patrick Ianni – Seattle Sounders FC | 06/20/12 v Sporting Kansas City, 15th minute
2011: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers | 07/02/11 v Sporting Kansas City, 45th minute
2010: Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire | 04/10/10 v San Jose Earthquakes, 52nd minute
2009: Landon Donovan - Los Angeles Galaxy | 08/08/09 v New England Revolution, 21st min.
2008: Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake | 10/18/08 v FC Dallas, 54th minute
2007: Cuauhtemoc Blanco – Chicago Fire | 08/18/07 v Real Salt Lake, 43rd minute
2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo | 09/30/06 v D.C. United, 86th minute
2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes | 10/15/05 v Los Angeles Galaxy, 45th minute
2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes | 08/07/04 v D.C. United, 82nd minute
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire | 08/13/03 v Columbus Crew, 90th minute
2002: Carlos Ruiz - LA Galaxy | 07/27/02 v Columbus Crew, 75th minute
2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars | 04/28/01 v Dallas Burn, 60th minute
2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids | 04/22/00 v Columbus Crew, 55th minute
1999: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United | 05/22/99 v Miami Fusion, 90th minute
1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew | 07/09/98 v Chicago Fire, 68th minute
1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United | 08/27/97 v New England Revolution, 39th minute
1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Clash | 04/06/96 v. D.C. United, 88th minute
All-Time MLS Save of the Year Winners:
2015: Adam Kwarasey – Portland Timbers | 8/15/15 v Real Salt Lake, 31st minute
2014: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls | 9/20/14 v Seattle Sounders FC, 69th minute
2013: Nick Rimando - Real Salt Lake | 8/3/13 v Colorado Rapids, 53rd minute
2012: Nick Rimando – Real Salt Lake | 4/14/12 v Sporting Kansas City, 75th minute
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC | 10/15/11 v San Jose Earthquakes, 64th minute
2010: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC | 04/17/10 v Kansas City Wizards, 92nd minute
2009: Pat Onstad – Houston Dynamo | 04/19/09 v Colorado Rapids, 83rd minute