Skip directly to content

FC Dallas clinches top seed in Audi 2016 MLS Cup Playoffs as historic treble hunt continues

Contact: MLS Communications
FC Dallas clinches top seed in Audi 2016 MLS Cup Playoffs as historic treble hunt continues
FC Dallas captures first Supporters’ Shield win in club history
NEW YORK, NY (Sunday, October 23, 2016) – In one of the most thrilling ends to the MLS regular season, FC Dallas (West #1, 60 points, 17-8-9 record) captured the top seed in the Audi 2016 MLS Cup Playoffs and its second major title of the year with a massive 0-0 draw with the LA Galaxy at StubHub Center. FC Dallas ended the season with the best record in the league going 17-8-9 for a total of 60 points.
After capturing the 2016 Supporters’ Shield and 2016 U.S. Open Cup titles, only MLS Cup remains in FC Dallas’ historic quest to become the first MLS team to win all three major titles in a single season. With the top playoff seed, FC Dallas will claim home-field advantage throughout the Audi 2016 MLS Cup Playoffs.
On the way to winning its first Supporters’ Shield in club history, FC Dallas put in one of the most consistent performances of the year, only suffering one loss at home for an impressive 12-1-4 record at Toyota Stadium. Dallas finished the MLS regular season with the league’s top points per game average with 1.76, while registering a fourth best goal differential (10), and finishing second in the Western Conference in total goals scored with 50.
With former MLS player and Colombian international Oscar Pareja at the coaching helm since 2014, FC Dallas has become a Western Conference heavyweight, qualifying for the postseason for three consecutive years and finishing first in the Western Conference the past two seasons. Anchored by a roster filled with young Homegrown talent, including U.S. Men’s National Team player Kellyn Acosta, and a contingent of international playmakers the likes of Mauro Diaz, Carlos Gruezo, Michael Barrios and Maxi Urruti, FC Dallas has become one of the most entertaining and dynamic teams in MLS.
The Supporters’ Shield has been won by a total of 11 different MLS clubs throughout the league’s 21-season history, with both the LA Galaxy and D.C. United hoisting the trophy a record four times. Of the previous 20 winners, six have gone on to win MLS Cup, one has lost in the Cup final, seven have been eliminated in the Conference Championships, while six have lost in the Conference Semifinals.
Major League Soccer Supporters’ Shield winners
2016:   FC Dallas (17-8-9, 60 points)
2015:   New York Red Bulls (18-10-6, 60 points)
2014:   Seattle Sounders FC (20-10-4, 64 pts.) 
2013:   New York Red Bulls (17-9-8, 59 pts.)
2012:   San Jose Earthquakes (19-6-9, 66 pts.)
2011:   LA Galaxy (19-5-10, 67 pts.)
2010:   LA Galaxy (18-7-5, 59 pts.)
2009:   Columbus Crew (13-7-10, 49 pts.)
2008:   Columbus Crew (17-7-6, 57 pts.)
2007:   D.C. United (16-7-7, 55 pts.)
2006:   D.C. United (15-7-10, 55 pts.)
2005:   San Jose Earthquakes (18-4-10, 64 pts.)
2004:   Columbus Crew (12-5-13, 49 pts.)
2003:   Chicago Fire (15-7-8, 53 pts.)
2002:   LA Galaxy (16-9-3, 51 pts.)
2001:   Miami Fusion (16-5-5, 53 pts.)
2000:   Kansas City Wizards (16-7-9, 57 pts.)
1999:   D.C. United (23-9-0, 57 pts.)
1998:   LA Galaxy (24-8-0, 68 pts.)
1997:   D.C. United* (21-11-0, 55 pts.)
1996:   Tampa Bay Mutiny* (20-12-0, 58 pts.)
*Awarded retroactively