Skip directly to content

All 1,200 Player Spots Filled for Sueño MLS 2011 – Presented by Allstate




Waiting list registration still available for nationally televised search for best undiscovered young soccer player in the country


NEW YORK (Tuesday, April 5, 2011)–For the fifth consecutive year, all 1,200 available player spots have been filled in advance for Sueño MLS 2011 – presented by Allstate,the premier nationally televised search for the best undiscovered soccer talent in the United States which kicks-off this Saturday with tryouts in Frisco, TX, home of FC Dallas. The competition and personal stories will be chronicled by Univision Network’s popular weekly sports show,“República Deportiva”(Sports Republic).   

An additional 500 players have registered for the waiting list, which remains open at   The inaugural winner, Jorge Flores, began his quest as a waiting list player and is now a forward at Chivas USA.

Now celebrating its fifth year, Sueño MLS 2011 – presented by Allstatewill be staged by three MLS clubs, including first-time host, Philadelphia Union, as well as returning hosts Chicago Fire and FC Dallas.  Up to 400 tryout spots were made available at each city on a first come, first served basis. 

In each city, players will be battling for one of five invitations to a week-long trial with their respective youth development host club and an invitation to the exciting four-day “Final Event” which will be staged for the first time in the greater Dallas area.  The finals will include training sessions, scrimmages, guest celebrity scouts, and an opportunity to meet some of the League’s biggest stars.  The ultimate champion will be crowned on Sunday, May 8, live on “República Deportiva” (see calendar below for more information).

Univision Network’s “República Deportiva,” the highest-rated weekly sports magazine program on Spanish-language television in the United States which airs nationally every Sunday, will follow the action weekly in a unique “reality show within a show” format.

New to Sueño MLSfor 2011, is the Allstate “Good Hands®” top goalkeeper award - El Portero Allstate.  One goalkeeper at each of the three local tryouts will be selected as the top goalkeeper, and at least two of the three will be chosen to join the other local finalists at the national final.  “El Portero Allstate” will be selected in addition to the Sueño MLS 2011- presented by Allstatechampion. 

MLS partners participating in Sueño MLS 2011– presented by Allstate,also include adidas, Degree Men, Gatorade, Pepsi and Volkswagen.


April 9-10                            Local market tryouts (FC Dallas)

April 16-17                          Local market tryouts (Chicago Fire)                                    

April 23-24                          Local market tryouts (Philadelphia Union)              

May 5-8                              “Final Event” in Frisco, TX

May 8                                 Announcement of winner on Univision Network’s República Deportiva



Eligible players must be between the ages of 14 and 18 years old (with appropriate identification) and retain their amateur status. Current collegiate student athletes will not be permitted to attend the final event in Frisco, TX.  Sueño MLS participants will be responsible for all personal expenses associated with the local market tryout, including travel to local tryouts, lodging, food, and soccer equipment (shoes, training gear, etc.). Program sponsors will cover all expenses for up to eighteen (18) participants selected to attend the final event in Frisco, TX. For more information, please visit  Participation in the event is free.  Players may not register for more than one city.


Year     Name                           Home Town                  Position           Host Team

2007     Jorge Flores                 Anaheim, CA                 Forward            Chivas USA

2008*    Gabriel Funes Mori        Arlington, TX                 Forward            FC Dallas

2008*    Briant Reyes                 Downey, CA                  Midfielder         Chivas USA

2009     Alberto Lopez              Aurora, Ill                      Midfielder         Chicago Fire

2010     Nelson Castro               Houston, TX                  Defender          Houston Dynamo

*Co-winners in 2008